Finding Your ‘Why’ || Inspired by Amy Jo Martin

I’ve been trying to make Sundays my “me” days as much as possible. Something I think a lot of people do, trying to refresh before heading into a new week. So I did that this past Sunday; church, a couple hours laying out in the sun, an hour of yoga, and then what turned out to be the most important part.

It started because I saw Amy Jo Martin (of Digital Royalty) post a photo to Instagram. I discovered Amy awhile ago, when I first started working in social media but it had been awhile since I’d been on her website, etc. So I checked it out to see what I’ve missed. I came across this post, titled “Finding Your ‘Why'”. Go read it, then come back here.

Obviously, that led to me clicking on some of the links, including Simon Sinek’s TED Talk. (Be sure to watch that, too. I posted it below).

Let me tell you, I’m inspired. By both of them. I watched, and I read, and I realized, I don’t know my “why” either. As I’m in this period of my life right after graduating, and trying to figure everything out, her post really resonated with me. I want to know my “why”.

After Amy heard that TED Talk, she wrote this post. Which lists the following 2 main takeaways from Simon’s talk:

1. People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.

2. The goal is not to sell to people what you have, the goal is to sell to people who believe what you believe.

… she followed those points with the statement that if she could have a cup of coffee (or a cocktail because she doesn’t drink coffee) with anyone, Simon would be high on her list. After reading those two posts, listening to her TED Talk, plus “Be Fearless. Be Free.”, “Innovate Your Life”, and “Ready Set Pause”, I have to say, Amy, you are right at the top of my same list.

I’m sitting at the airport right now, headed to LA for a long weekend getaway visiting my best friend. And plan to use this flight as some time to reflect on what my “why” could possibly be. Of course, I don’t expect to make my epic “why” discovery on this flight alone, but I’m determined to identify and own my “why”, and begin to innovate my life, just as Amy has done.

P.S. Her book is coming out October 2, and I CANNOT wait to read it.

2 thoughts on “Finding Your ‘Why’ || Inspired by Amy Jo Martin

  1. […] your ‘why’, owning it & innovating your life. I wrote about that this summer, right here. Still searching for my ‘why’ so I can own […]

  2. My family every time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I am getting knowledge
    everyday by reading such pleasant articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

