Empowerment.

I get it. Song lyrics, commercials, tv shows, magazines, etc… they all spend some time tearing down women. I get that that’s wrong, it’s terrible, but enough already with the complaining. I’d like to think we’re all stronger than that.

This has been our latest discussion in Media Theory, how women are portrayed in the media. These things are all over the tv, radio, etc and we all listen to and watch them. Guilty as charged. The thing I have a problem with is women letting it define them. We’re better than that, right? When I hear the lyrics of a song speak poorly of women, I ignore it… it’s not a shot at me personally, I’m confident enough to know that. Don’t get me wrong, I completely get how this upsets women but why take the negative road when you can take the positive one? Why do women sit here and complain over and over about the bad, when you could just as easily praise and embrace the good? The best way to change something negative is to focus on the positive and help it grow.

Empowerment.

I love that word. It’s confidence. It’s security. It’s being comfortable in your own skin. It’s being proud of who you are. And it excludes negativity. The media is not all bad. While I see how the negative side is out there, I think women empowering other women is bigger than ever now.

Beyonce proud to announce she's pregnant at the VMA's.

Beyonce might as well be a synonym for the word empowerment. She’s got it goin’ on, rocks it, knows it (not in a cocky way) and wants every other woman out there to feel the same. She’s the epitome of female empowerment, and I admire her for it. Take a listen to some of her songs if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

'Erin Andrews gets dirty for GQ'

I think it’s all about perspective. Erin Andrews, for example. People talk about women in sports only getting their jobs because of their looks, thinking it means a woman has to look ‘sexy’ to get a job in a man’s world. Of course looks are part of it, they’re on tv… but it’s not the whole deal. A lot of women have problems with the sex appeal side to EA… she’s gorgeous, 5’10, legs for days, long blonde hair. But take a minute to see past that. She knows her stuff. If you get stuck on the fact that it bothers you that she’s beautiful,  you miss the part where it’s clear she got her job because she knows as much (if not more) about sports as the men beside her.

I think disrespecting women in the media is an important issue but not one we need to dwell on as much as we do. Look at it from the right perspective. Choose to see Erin Andrews as a person who made a career out of the thing she loves, sports, rather than a beautiful woman holding a microphone. Learn a lesson from women like her, and Beyonce. Ignore the haters, be proud of exactly who you are… focus on the positive instead of dwelling on the negative.

For me, empowerment is in these two women. In the opportunity I see in my future. In rocking heels even though I’m 6′. In being an athlete for life. In brightening someone’s day. In helping someone I care about succeed. In being proud of exactly who I am, right now.

Instead of asking what bothers you about how women are portrayed in the media, I’m asking what empowers you? I think focusing on that will do our world a whole lot more good.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Empowerment.

  1. J Stap says:

    This is beautiful!!! I hope other girls and women who read it will be empowered.

  2. 4one7 says:

    LET EM KNOW! great post. I don’t know what else to say besides RESPECT

Leave a Reply

