Coaches Touch Lives – Coach Chris

It’s taken me awhile since “Coaches touch lives part 1” to write part 2, mostly because it’s nearly impossible to find the words. His generosity and how much he has truly cared about me since day 1 as his player repeatedly blows me away. He is the epitome of a great role model, as well as a perfect example of the type of person I aspire to be.

I said it was nearly impossible to find the words, but the word that leaps to the front of my mind is passion. Yes, Coach Chris definitely has passion. I dare you to try to find someone who knows and loves the game of basketball like he does. You won’t.

His passion for the game ignited mine. I came to him as a girl who had barely played basketball- the last player to make the cut for our AAU team. I left as a starter, leading scorer and college basketball player. Because of him, I learned and fell in love with the game of basketball.

He molded me into the player that shot over 50% and led her team in scoring each night. He taught me the pump fakes, crossovers, behind-the-backs, and big, quick first step I needed to get by any defender and take the ball to the hole. He showed me the ins and outs of the 1-3-1 defense that led us to countless steals and traps that forced turnover after turnover. I can’t imagine that I ever would have been the player I was (am?) without him. He pretty much taught me everything I know.

The thing is, Chris not only touched my life on the court, but off of it as well. And that’s what makes a great coach great.

As I described in part 1, my senior season was cut short by a knee injury. Right away, I got a visit from Coach Chris. Outside of being a basketball coach, he is the President of a huge, incredible and fast-growing company. He visited me on a day that was, as he described it, one of the biggest days of his career. Yet on that day that should have been so incredible for him, he said all he could think about was me and my knee, and so he sat and cried with me in my living room, wishing that season would have ended differently.

His generosity is unbelievable. Whether it’s time, work, money, love, he gives and gives and gives. I’ve been so incredibly blessed to experience that in the 12+ years that he’s been in my life.

I can sincerely tell you that I would not be the person I am today if it weren’t for having Chris as a coach. He helped mold me into not only a great basketball player, but a great person who is determined, competitive and chases after her dreams.

So thank you, Coach Chris. You helped lead me to a life love for the game of basketball, and truly made me a better player and person. I am grateful beyond words to have been coached by you, and am continually blessed every day to have your generosity, friendship, faith and support in my life.

One thought on “Coaches Touch Lives – Coach Chris

  1. Nanny says:

    Wow!! You express yourself so beautifully and have given Chris all the praise he deserves. He must be so proud of you. You are something so special, and it is a wonderful thing to have someone like Chris in your life.

Leave a Reply

