Merry Clinchmas, Reds fans!

Does it get any cooler than that? Jay Bruce hits a walk-off homer to clinch the NL Central for the Reds. The first walk-off jack to clinch a berth since 2004. This is the only the second time in my lifetime that the Reds will go to the play-offs (Admittedly, I don’t remember the first – I know I said I’ve been a sports fan my whole life, but I was 5… gimme a break.)

I watch SportsCenter while I eat my breakfast daily – something my housemates make fun of me for – but today I beamed as I chomped on my cereal because just as I sat down, the ESPN anchors’ discussion turned to the Reds… perfect timing. The game wasn’t on tv in Michigan last night, but thanks to ESPN I got to see Bruce hit that beautiful rocket to center field, Great American Ballpark burst with excitement as he rounded the bases and the team douse each other with champagne afterwards in the locker room (and my boy Brandon Phillips’ ridiculous goggles & first-ever sip of alcohol).

To quote ESPN (in the SportsCenter Rundown email that appeared in my inbox this morning): “it’s the first playoff berth clinched by Cincy since 1995. (Even the Bengals have been to the playoffs twice since then.)” Say what you want, ESPN… but it’s a great, great year to be a Cincinnati sports fan and I couldn’t be more proud.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

